We are pleased to share that Wickr has been acquired by Amazon and is now part of the Amazon Web Services (AWS) team. Learn more here →

Changes to Screenshot Detection

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on email

At Wickr, privacy for our users is our #1 priority. Screenshot detection has allowed you to own and control your content. While there is no privacy silver bullet, transparency around capturing messages enables trust and helps set privacy expectations between you and your contacts.

With the release of version 5.87, we’ve changed the behavior of screenshot detection in conversations In order to better align ourselves with Apple’s privacy policy. While users in a conversation will still be notified when a screenshot is taken, we’ll no longer send the actual screenshot into the conversation itself.

Other than that, the screenshot detection feature will behave the same way. Users will not have the ability to turn off screenshot detection. If you take a screenshot on your mobile device, all conversation participants will still receive a screenshot notification. Users may not recall a screenshot notification once action taken.

Also, just as before, a screenshot notification will NOT be captured in the conversation settings page, calling screen, or when viewing a file/image in a conversation.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact our support team.

Subscribe to Wickr

Get the latest tips and news on security, collaboration, and compliance.

Get in Touch

Learn how Wickr can help you collaborate securely and seamlessly.